Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Types of VPN Mechanisms

VPN or Virtual Private Networks are used to extend the reach of Local Area Networks or LANs without the need for leased or owned private lines. Companies use VPNs to connect branches that are geographically separated into a unified network, enable network access for remote and mobile users, and facilitate the remote use of applications that rely on internal servers. There are two types of VPN mechanisms - Trusted VPNs and Secure VPNs.

Trusted VPNs
Trusted VPNs use private circuits leased from a trusted communications provider. Over the past few years, the implementation of trusted VPNs has moved from raw private circuits that were leased from telecommunication vendors to the present private IP network circuits that have been leased from Internet providers. The major technologies used for implementing trusted VPNs over IP networks are Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS), ATM circuits, and frame-relay circuits.

Secured VPNs
Secured VPNs send encrypted traffic over the public Internet. It may use Transport Layer Security (TLS) with encryption, IPsec with Layer 2 Tunneling Protocol (L2TP), IPsec, Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) 3.0, Point-to-Point Tunneling Protocol (PPTP), or Layer Two Forwarding (L2F).

Hybrid VPNs
When you use a trusted VPN and secure VPN together, it is known as a hybrid VPN. Another type of VPN combines a secure VPN of two types into one gateway. For example, Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) and IPsec are combined into one gateway to form a hybrid VPN.

In today’s economy, enterprise networking has become a lifeline for enterprises. As these enterprises are evolving and expanding, they need to be connected to each other with VPNs. However, it needs to be seen that the VPN services are taken from a trusted service provider.

Tikona Digital Networks’ Virtual Private Network services

Tikona Digital Networks offers a wide range of services for your connectivity needs. They have a pan-India presence and 63 Points of Presence (POPs) which is soon going to touch 224 POPs in the coming months. They provide their services to almost 350 corporate clients. The VPNs offer manageability, flexibility, scalability, and expandability as required by the networked business enterprises of today.

Tikona helps network managers reduce the overall operational cost of wide area networking through VPNs. These cost lesser when compared to conventional Point-to-Point links. Here are some of the cost benefits that you will get with Tikona’s VPN service.

  • Pay for use
  • Cheaper backups
  • Flexible bandwidth
  • Better utilization of bandwidth over the last mile and quick upgradability
  • Reduced Hardware cost
  • Reduced manpower cost
  • Better data rates
Tikona also offers other services like:
  • Managed network services
  • Internet bandwidth services
  • MPLS networking services
  • Leased Line internet connection

Thursday, July 27, 2017

6 Household Benefits of Broadband

Ever since broadband Internet has been introduced, it has been a boon not only to offices but to households as well. It has made accessing the Internet easier and enjoyable with less waiting time. It is difficult to imagine a life without the Internet. Here are some benefits of a household broadband Internet connection that makes life a lot more convenient and comfortable.

1. Fast Speed
Broadband connections offer faster Internet than the old dial-up Internet connections. With a speed of 1Mbps, you can receive and send information at least 20 times faster than you would on an outdated dial-up Internet connection.

2. High Bandwidth
Broadband usually has a high bandwidth. Due to this, large volumes of data can be transferred at one time, making receiving and sending huge amounts of data from your computer very quick.

3. File Sharing
Broadband lets you conduct peer-to-peer (P2P) file sharing. Exchange videos, music, pictures, movies, blogging, games, and a lot more data online.

4. Lesser Waiting Time
You may now view websites with complex and detailed graphics without having to wait a long time for them to load. This will speed up and enhance your browsing experience. Having websites load quickly will save you time while doing projects or any other research work.

5. Work From Home
With Broadband, you may communicate effectively and efficiently with your employers or colleagues from home. This increase in communication has opened up numerous job opportunities for people who are unable to travel to their workplaces.

6. Run Your Business
With the ability to transfer large amounts of data quickly and efficiently, you will be able to run your business effectively. The blazing speeds also help increase productivity among your employees.

There are many ISPs that provide broadband connections. But to get the best possible services for you everyday use, you should choose one of the best internet providers in the market. Tikona broadband is one of such ISPs that you should consider.

Tikona’s Services

Tikona is one of the largest and most innovative wireless networks in the market offering a large variety of services. Tikona Digital Networks offers services that use some of the most cutting-edge technologies in the market. These services are very popular, and you will find a number of favorable reviews of the same online.

If you are looking for a broadband connection for your home or office, you should take a look at the Broadband plans offered by Tikona. A Tikona broadband plan gives you the following benefits:

  • Twice the coverage as compared to standard Wi-Fi access points
  • Smart Antennas that make your Internet connection resistant to interference
  • WPA2 Enterprise that offers optimum Wi-Fi security
  • Service assistance that is hands-on and proactive
  • Reduced waiting time with faster delivery timelines
  • Easy site relocation and scalability
  • No cuts or cables with the Direct to Home (D2H) facility
  • Payment for your Internet plan after the in-home demo

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Tikona Review of 6 Mbps Broadband Plan by a Professional Blogger

Name: Raj Goenka
Age: 22 years
Location: Bengaluru
Occupation: Professional blogger

I love technology and blogging. While I was a college student, I started my own tech blog after being encouraged by my friends. Rapidly my blog grew from five followers to over a thousand. I have now even started blogging for companies that approach me. This includes introducing new products, DIY repairs, the latest tech news, tech company profiles, and others. While earlier my internet connection was fine enough for amateur blogging, it started becoming a problem when I decided to shift to professional blogging. This is because my old connection would take a lot of time for me to upload high-quality videos as well as research the latest tech terms and product launches.

How was I introduced to Tikona’s Internet services?


I was on the lookout for a better internet connection. I checked online and asked friends and neighbors for recommendations. A number of them gave me good Tikona broadband review, which got me interested and which is why I added it to my list of potential internet service providers (ISPs). I then went online and read all the reviews, plans, and other things about the different ISPs in my list. After reading the reviews for Tikona Infinite Limited, I decided to call the company for a new internet connection. I, of course, did keep my old ISP’s connection for a month, just in case the new connection was not as good as I had expected. In the end, I decided to keep the Tikona connection while letting go of the old internet connection.

My Tikona plan


I selected the Tikona 6 Mbps broadband plan as it felt like the right plan that not only fulfilled my blogging needs but also gave me good speeds while gaming online. The plan cost INR 550 a month, which was very reasonable and pocket-friendly. It gave me 30 GB data limit at a speed of 6 Mbps.

How Tikona set up the Internet connection?


The installation process was very fast. I contacted Tikona via its website. Since my neighbors already had a Tikona broadband connection, there was no need to set up any extra infrastructure. The company installed two routers—a rooftop router and an internal router in a day’s time. The rooftop router was installed on the terrace. The internal router was installed at my home. A cable was used to connect both of them. The router connects up to eight Wi-Fi-enabled devices. Tikona has made my house an internet hub that benefits all my friends.

My experience with the service


Tikona offers fast Internet and has a reliable connection. There has seldom been any downtime on this connection. With the new connection, I have been able to conduct research and upload videos quickly. This has also let me take on a lot more projects by other companies.

My final rating of Tikona


I have been using Tikona’s internet service since the past three months. So far, I haven’t had any problems with it. The internet pack I am using is sufficient to last an entire month. I am actually glad I changed my ISP. That is why I wrote this, hoping that my Tikona review proves beneficial to others as well.

Internet speed: 9/10
Connectivity: 10/10
Installation services: 8/10
The equipment: 9/10
Customer service: 7/10
My overall rating: 9/10

Thursday, June 29, 2017

Top 5 Advantages of Leased Lines over Broadband Services for Businesses

At present, broadband is a popular way to connect to the internet. However, while a broadband connection may be fine for individuals, enterprises and other institutions like schools and hospitals need something more. Leased lines are more dedicated and provide better connectivity options in comparison to broadband. If you are wondering whether you should opt for leased lines for your business, read on to find out the five advantages of using leased lines.

1. Symmetric connectivity


Leased lines have symmetric connectivity i.e. the same upload and download speeds. In comparison, broadband services have a high download speed but low upload speed. This is especially good for businesses that need to constantly upload and download content simultaneously.

2. High speeds and seamless connectivity


The wires used for leased lines are made up of fiber, copper line, or radio links or a combination of the three. This offers a smooth and uninterrupted connection. It also ensures that you get fast Internet speeds without any interference.

3. Hassle-free transmissions


Leased line connection offers a dedicated line to the user. Since it doesn’t carry anyone else’s communications or data, the user gets high volumes of data and voice transmission at really high speeds. This ensures easy and hassle-free transmission even during the peak hours.

4. High quality


With a leased line connection, you may rest assured of high-quality Internet. With this connection, you may easily monitor WiFi performance issues such as latency, lags and jitters. With dedicated lines and high-speed Internet, there is no doubt that leased line connections are one of the best for high-quality Internet.

5. Unlimited data usage


Most Internet Service Providers (ISPs) provide their leased line subscribers with unlimited data packages. This lets you work on projects that require heavy internet usage without having to keep a constant eye on the data spent on a particular project. Leased line carrier providers generally charge lower than other internet service providers. This also lets you avoid hefty Internet bills which would otherwise occur if you exceeded your data pack.


Tikona Leased Line Internet connection and other services


They have a variety of home and office solutions for customers, who have favorable review for Tikona broadband services. For individual use, you should check out Tikona internet plans, which come with a variety of internet speeds and are reliable as well as affordable. For your office, get Tikona’s Leased Line Internet connection. Following are the benefits of the same.
Almost 100 percent uptime through Link Fail-over
Media diversity over wireless last mile
Effective bandwidth utilization through load balancing

Tikona also offers other services such as Virtual Private Network (VPN), network management services, enterprise mailing solutions, and much more through its Enterprise Services arm Tikona Infinet Limited

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

New Wi-Fi Technologies - Li-Fi and MegaMIMO 2.0

Ever since the Wi-Fi technology was introduced, researchers, scientists, and companies are looking for ways in which they can maximize the internet speeds and security. Here are two such innovative Wi-Fi technologies that have been recently released.

1. Li-Fi-



Li-Fi stands for light fidelity. It uses lamps to transfer data. The new form of wireless technology was introduced at the Mobile World Congress, the largest mobile tech fair in the world.

How it works-


LED bulbs tend to flicker on and off thousands of times per second. While it is not detectable to the human eye, machines can read this flickering easily. This frequency is even faster than the radio waves used by conventional Wi-Fi. Li-Fi uses this unique property of LED lamps to work.

Advantages of Li-Fi-


The Li-Fi is much faster than the conventional Wi-Fi. As per laboratory tests, the Li-Fi can transmit information at speeds over 200 GBps. This speed is as fast as downloading information worth 23 DVDs in the blink of an eye. It also has a limited range which can prevent the Internet signal from going outside your house and increasing privacy.


2. MegaMIMO 2.0-



The second form of technology that has been released is known as the MegaMIMO 2.0. MIT’s Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Lab (CSAIL) has developed this new wireless technology.

How it works-


Through this technology, several routers work together to transmit data over the same piece of spectrum. This ensures that many signals are sent at the same time and it reduces many problems associated with limited bandwidth. The MegaMIMO 2.0 is the same size as a standard Wi-Fi router and mimics the multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) technology of smart phones in order to address the problem of network congestion.

Advantages of MegaMiMO 2.0-


The MegaMIMO 2.0 aims to more than triple Wi-Fi data speeds and double its reach. In a laptop test, the system was able to increase data speeds by as much as 330 percent.
This technology proves to be instrumental as it can solve the spectrum crunch problem. While the number of consumers and businesses using wireless Internet and devices is increasing, the network infrastructure is unable to expand quickly to meet this growing demand. However, this latest technology enhances network traffic in a new way.


Tikona’s services-


Tikona’s services are one of the most innovative technologies in the market. It offers the largest wireless network and has a wide range of services. If you are looking to connect your home or office to the internet you should consider Tikona broadband plans. The services have been popular and there are plenty of favorable reviews about Tikona. Its benefits are as follows-
Twice the coverage as compared to standard Wi-Fi access points
Optimum Wi-Fi security through WPA2 Enterprise
Resistance from interference through Smart Antennas
Direct to Home- No cable No Cuts
Proactive Service Assistance
Pay After In- Home Demo
Faster Delivery timelines
Ease of Site Relocation and Scalability

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Top 3 Common Wi-Fi Problems that Users Face

Today, four out of five houses in Indian metros have a Wi-Fi internet connection. This internet broadband is usually powered by internet service providers (ISP) as they are more cost-effective, efficient, and provide a dedicated connection. But there are few common problems that users face when it comes to connecting their devices to the internet. These can be an authentication problem or a set up error which are really annoying for a user.
Below is a list of three common issues and their resolution:

Poor Signal Strength


One of the most common problems is poor WiFi signal strength. Although there can be various causes for this, the most usual suspect is the Wi-Fi router itself. Most modern devices have a lifespan of around four years, and yet it depends on the technology and the brand. Replacing and configuring the router may help you regain signal strength, but if the problem persists, you may want to look at the positioning of your hardware.

This wireless technology works on the principle of radio wave transmission wherein a router transmits data waves for devices such as your smartphone and your laptop to detect and connect to. These radio waves need space (or a medium) to move around freely. If they do not have this liberty to move around, say due to a wall or any other physical object, the strength of these signals fall, causing you to receive low-quality signals. One way to check this is to take your device in front of the router and try connecting to the internet. If it gives you full signal strength, you have your culprit.


Channel Noise


Have you ever looked at the Wi-Fi networks list from your mobile device when you are at home? Chances are that you will see at least five different networks (all your neighbors’). Well, this can be a problem for your router because now it has to cut through these channels too in addition to transmitting internet to you. The more number of networks in a location, the harder for your router to transmit good-quality internet.

The easiest way to get rid of this is to manually select a unique channel that your router transmits internet in. There are several guides available on the internet which you can refer to for this purpose. And once you do it, you will never have to worry about poor signal strength again.


“Forgot the Password”

It may be hard to believe but people always lose access or forget the password of their Wi-Fi networks. If you are one of them, fret not, because there are several guides available on the web that you can use to retrieve your password. The process is similar to how you change your channel, and can be carried out in minutes flat.


These are the top 3 problems that Wi-Fi users face today, and most internet providers in India like Tikona make sure that their customers’ problems are immediately resolved. There are several services that are offered by Tikona Broadband.

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

How to Measure Your Wi-Fi Signal Strength

Your wireless network connection’s (Wi-Fi) performance greatly depends on the radio signal strength. The data rate available on the path between the wireless access point and a connected device is determined by the signal strength in each direction. The signal strength of your Wi-Fi helps to determine the range that an access point has throughout any given area and the functionality of the Wi-Fi hardware.

Measuring the Wi-Fi signal strength could also help you identify the ways to improve the internet connectivity of your connected devices. Here are two methods to measure the Wi-Fi signal strength.

Using a built-in operating system utility


Usually, operating systems like Microsoft Windows contain a built-in utility to examine wireless network connections. Using a built-in operating system is the simplest and the fastest method to measure the Wi-Fi signal strength.

In the latest versions of Windows, you could click the small network icon on the taskbar to instantly see the wireless network you are connected to. The signal strength of the Wi-Fi is indicated through five bars, where five is the best connection while one is the poorest connection.

In Windows, you could also find the same using ‘Network and Internet’ option in Control Panel. On the ‘Network Connections’ page, simply right-click the wireless connection option and choose ‘Connect/Disconnect’ to determine the Wi-Fi signal strength.

To have the terminal window show the signal strength on Linux systems, use the following command:  iwconfig wlan0 | grep -i --color signal.

Using a tablet or smart phone


Any internet-enabled mobile device generally has a section in the settings that could show you the signal strength of the Wi-Fi network in range.

In the ‘Settings’ app on an iPhone, just go to Wi-Fi to see the signal strength of the network you are connected to as well as the signal strength of any network in range.

Similarly, to determine the Wi-Fi signal strength on an Android smart phone, tablet, or any other smart phone simply browse through the ‘Wi-Fi’, ‘Settings’ or ‘Network’ menu.

Alternatively, you could download a free app like Wi-Fi Analyzer for Android, which visually represents your Wi-Fi signal strength in dBm as compared to other nearby networks. Similar apps are also available for other platforms like iOS.

Tikona’s secured office Wi-Fi services


The implementation of Wi-Fi is a crucial business decision. The authorities are mainly concerned about security on wireless coverage within the office. Furthermore, the interference of multiple Wi-Fi devices with each other degrades the overall network performance. However, Tikona Digital Networks addresses these problems with its secured office Wi-Fi solution.

Tikona’s secured office Wi-Fi solution enables employees to access the network of the office securely from anywhere in the premises using mobile Internet devices like smart phones, laptops, and tablets. Moreover, it enables the addition of new users to the office network without any incremental cost.

The secured office Wi-Fi solution by Tikona Broadband is powered by 4G technologies like OFDM, MIMO and Smart Antenna technology. It is equipped with unique features and offers several benefits to its users, such as Secured Wi-Fi access through WPA2 Enterprise, double the coverage of standard Wi-Fi access points, in-built ‘Quality of Service’ for voice, video and data traffic, and Smart Antennas that prevent interference.

There are also some new broadband plans for Bangalore offered by Tikona.

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Latest Tikona Internet Plans for Bangalore

Tikona is an Internet Service Provider (ISP) that offers numerous broadband plans in Bangalore and across 24 other cities in the country. It also offers services like leased line connections for office. The ISP has a customer base of more than 2,75,000. It was founded in the year 2008 by Prakash Bajpai, who is a veteran in the telecommunications industry.

The company has over 40,000 wireless access points across India, which makes it one of the largest Wireless Internet service providers in the world. What sets Tikona apart from the rest is its ability to provide prompt installation services, superior internet packages, and reliable technical support.

Tikona broadband offers reliable internet services in Bangalore with speeds ranging from 3 Mbps to 10 Mbps, providing bundled usage based and unlimited plans. Given below are some of the latest plans by the ISP, which offer complete value for money.


Unlimited Plans (No FUP Limit Plans)-


Plan Name
#ADULM10M1400
#ADULM6M1050
#ADULM3M750
Monthly Plan Charges (Rs)


1400
1050
750
FUP Limit


Unlimited
Unlimited
Unlimited
Download Speed


10 Mbps
6 Mbps
3 Mbps

There are a total of 3 plans that have no FUP limits. They provide speeds of 10 Mbps, 6 Mbps and 3 Mbps. The 10 Mbps plan has a monthly fee of Rs. 1400, while the 6 Mbps plan costs Rs. 1050 per month and lastly, the 3 Mbps plan has a monthly fee of Rs. 750. You can utilize an unlimited amount of data with these plans at the same speeds. That’s the unique feature of these plans. There is no Daily Data Cap applicable to any of the above Unlimited Plans. Check out the details in the table given above. 


Zabbardus 10 Mbps plan-


Monthly Plan Charges (Rs)


750
650
FUP Limit


75
30
Download Speed


10 Mbps
10 Mbps
Post FUP Download Speed


1 Mbps
1 Mbps
Plan Name


#ADBBM10M750
#ADBBM10M650

Both Zabbardus 10 Mbps plans enable you to download data at speeds of up to 10 Mbps. The former could be availed following a payment of Rs 2013 subscription fee. The monthly charges for this plan are Rs. 750 while its FUP limit is 75 GB. The #ADBBM10M650 plan has an FUP limit of 30 GB. You need to pay Rs. 1898 as its subscription fee as well a monthly fee of Rs. 650.  Download speeds of both these plans will drop to 1 Mbps once you cross the FUP limit.


Smart 6 Mbps plan-


Monthly Plan Charges (Rs)
750
650
FUP Limit
90 GB
45 GB
Download Speed
6 Mbps
6 Mbps
Post FUP Download Speed
1 Mbps
1 Mbps
Plan Name
#ADBBM6M750
#ADBBM6M650


Smart 6 Mbps plans provide you with a dedicated download speed of 6 Mbps. You will have to pay a fee of Rs. 500 as installation charge. The #ADBBM6M750 plan lets you download 90 GB of data. This plan can be availed following a payment of Rs. 1,438 as subscription fee. The monthly charges for this plan are Rs. 750. Subscribing to the #ADBBM6M650 plan lets you avail of 45 GB of data. You could enroll in this plan by making a payment of Rs. 1,323 as subscription fee apart from paying Rs. 650 every month Download speeds of both plans will drop to 1 Mbps once you cross the FUP limit.


Tikona Broadband’s Bangalore plans provide customers with reliable and high-quality Internet services. With plans starting from Rs. 550, the ISP has ensured that everyone has a plan to suit their budget. To find out more about Tikona Digital Networks’ services, contact the ISP’s customer care on 1860-3000-3434 or write to customercare@tikona.in.

Friday, March 31, 2017

Why the Internet is a Blessing for Businesses of All Kinds

The proliferation of the internet has been a blessing for businesses of all kinds. The World Wide Web has enabled all types of companies to compete with established corporations, thereby helping to level the playing field. With the constant availability of content and products online, businesses have been able to increase their visibility, and consequently their revenue as well. Thanks to the improved technologies of internet, companies have been able to reach out to customers like never before.

Given below are four benefits that your business could derive through the internet.



1. An endless customer base


If you had to promote your business a few decades ago, then advertising it through print, TV, and radio were the only options. Using these options was often expensive, and their reach was limited. Progress in 4G and advanced wifi technologies has changed the way businesses advertise themselves and their products. Any organization or product that has a presence on the Web also has the potential to reach a global audience.
Today, consumers from around the world could easily learn about your company and buy products, through the Internet.



2. The opportunity to keep services available every day of the year


Since anyone can access anything on the Web at any given time, your online services are bound to be open all through the day and night. As a business owner, you are bound to benefit the most because of this as you can earn money at any hour. Services like Virtual Private Networks also help.


3. Immense business networking possibilities

As many businesses have established their presence on the Web and also the fact that internet in India has improved, it has led to the creation of a global community of peers. Before the advent of the internet, business owners had to join a local commerce chamber in order to network with fellow entrepreneurs.  The World Wide Web has changed the rules of business networking as it has enabled business owners to easily exchange ideas with fellow entrepreneurs from the same fields via Internet forums and chat rooms.



4. Cost-effective operations


As mentioned earlier, harnessing the power of the digitalized networks for your business is extremely cost effective. Operating your store online is far cheaper than running an actual shop. Even advertising on the Web is cheaper as compared to traditional media outlets. What’s more? The Internet also helps you to reach out to a targeted demographic, all without having to travel.


If your business requires a dependable ISP who would provide an uninterrupted internet connection, you could consider availing the services provided by Tikona Infinet, which is the enterprise services division of Tikona Digital Networks Pvt. Ltd. provides reliable last mile wireless access to its customers. It also offers leased line connections and VPNs. The last mile is used to expand the connectivity from Tikona Infinet’s Point of Presence through POPs to various locations in India.

The enterprise services division’s Wireless Broadband (WBB) base stations, which are located at each POP, complete the provisioning of this last mile. They connect to the Customer-Premises Equipment (CPE), which are installed at the subscriber’s location. Equipments of Tikona Broadband can be installed at your location after the payment of a one-time rental.

Friday, March 3, 2017

Tikona Review - For My 4 Mbps Tikona Broadband Plan

Name: Satish Shah
Age: 29 yrs.
Location: Mulund West, Navi Mumbai.
Occupation: Stock Market trader

I’m a Stock Market trader and reside in Mulund and needed a high speed internet connection all day long. As my occupation depends on checking stock prices constantly, I needed a connection where I could stream live stock prices the entire day, mainly 7-8 hours of live streaming and 3-4 hours of research. It will be right to assume that my livelihood directly depends on a good internet connection. But, my previous internet connection was no good, it was slow, had several maintenance issues and I’ve suffered a lot of losses due to inconsistency of services. It was high time that I started searching for a new broadband connection and I started asking around my neighborhood.

How I found out about Tikona?

Besides the local internet service providers, I heard about Tikona Broadband services which is a popular internet connection service provider in my area and several of my neighbors had already subscribed to their services. So, after researching for a bit, I found out that Tikona Digital Networks is a Mumbai-based internet service provider and offers some great broadband plans at reasonable rates. As most of the members of my society had already had the infrastructure set up, I decided to give Tikona a shot and check out their services.

My Experience Using Tikona 4 Mbps Plan-

I started using Tikona 4 mbps broadband plan after going through all the plans that they offered. The plan came with 4 mbps download speed & with 60 GB download limit and was exactly the kind of plan I was looking for. As I work heavily on my laptop I needed good internet speed and 4 mbps was the optimal speed. The 4 mbps plan cost me INR 3999 for 6 months which was cheaper than my previous connection. The installation process was swift and my internet connection was up and running in a day.

How Tikona Broadband Connection is Setup-

Two routers are installed, one at the rooftop and one internally and both were installed in a day. The rooftop router is fitted on the terrace and a linking cable is connected from it to the router at my house. Their package also includes a Wi-fi router which is always convenient as it makes my entire home a wireless internet hub and can be connected to any device including my laptop. Up to 8 devices can be connected so the wireless internet can be connected to a phone, a tablet or any device that requires an internet connection.



Final Rating and Review for Tikona Digital Networks-

I’ve been a Tikona subscriber for the past 4 months now and honestly I haven’t found out any flaws yet. My Tikona review is that the speed is good, rarely experiences down times, and the customer service is commendable. I’m happy with their service and will renew my plan with them after 2 months. Below are my ratings.

Installation Services: 9/10
Speed: 8/10
Connectivity: 8/10
Customer Service: 9/10
Equipment: 8/10
Overall Rating: 8/10

Would I Recommend Tikona? YES.

Thursday, February 23, 2017

4G vs. Wi-Fi: Which is the Safest Way to Surf?

The increasing use of smart phones has consequently increased the demand for 3G, 4G connection, and Wi-Fi hotspots. Although you could choose from any of these options to stay connected and browse the Web, finding the most secure one is a difficult task. It is also important to understand these technologies and the risks involved with the same, before making a choice.

Understanding connectivity options

·         4G Connections
When 4G devices are connected to a cellular company’s network connection, they receive data from the cellular company, enabling them to connect to the Web. Therefore, when you use 4G, you could access the Web whenever you receive a signal. Moreover, since the data being transferred via the network is encrypted, 4G is a safer option than public Wi-Fi hotspot.

·         Public Wi-Fi hotspots
Public hotspots are generally found in coffee shops, airports, malls, and several other places. However, you may not be able to ascertain whether it is safe or not from hackers who may try to breach your device’s security. It is a viable option only if your phone is secured through a virtual private network (VPN), wherein your device’s information is strongly encrypted.

·         Private Wi-Fi connections
A private Wi-Fi connection is what you probably have installed at your home or office. This connection, when setup appropriately and secured with a strong password encrypts the data being transferred and received. Only authorized individuals may access this network through a password.


Security level on a 4G network
With regard to 4G, the hacking has mainly been restricted to the proof-of-concepts stage. This is a situation wherein white hat hackers attempt to infiltrate a network for research purposes.
There have been instances when individuals have hacked 4G through man-in-the-middle (MITM) attacks, wherein the unauthorized individuals place themselves between an app and a user or even between two unsuspicious people to ‘listen in’ on the transmissions being sent. However, compared to public Wi-Fi hotspots, 4G is more difficult to hack.

  

Finding the best solution
Public Wi-Fi hotspots are more prone to infiltration compared to 4G. Enabling VPN when using a cellular or Wi-Fi connection is one of the most secure ways. This is followed by cellular-only and Wi-Fi-only networks.
Therefore to enable 360-degree protection, you should adopt a multi-layered approach that entails employing firewalls, anti-malware protection, VPNs, and even exercising caution while browsing the Web.


About Tikona 4G Home Broadband
Tikona 4G Home Broadband offers lightning-fast speeds and a secure connection to seamlessly stream or download content. Tikona broadband employs 4G LTE (Long-Term Evolution) to offer you superior services. LTE is one of the best standards for wireless communication of high-speed data for mobile phones and data terminals. You may, therefore, rest assured while transferring large files or even streaming content as Tikona Digital Networks 4G home broadband services deliver in terms of connectivity and speed.
With Tikona, you could experience speeds of up to 6 Mbps. If you subscribe to a 6 Mbps or 4 Mbps plan, you could surf, e-mail, browse the Web, and stream four and three concurrent videos respectively. The 2 Mbps plan facilitates streaming of two concurrent videos, surfing, occasional downloads, and email-related tasks. With such diverse options to choose from, you could enjoy Tikona 4G Home Broadband services securely.


Virtual Private Network and its benefits

What is a VPN?
A Virtual Private Network (VPN) permits you to create a secure connection to another network over the Internet. VPNs can be used to enter region-restricted websites, protect your browsing activity from snooping eyes on public Wi-Fi, and more.
When you connect your computer or any another device like a smartphone or tablet to a VPN, the computer pretends as if it’s on the same local network as the VPN. All of your network traffic is transmitted over a secure connection to the VPN. Because your computer pretends as if it’s on the network, this permits you to securely access local network resources even when you’re on the different side of the planet. You’ll can also utilize the internet connection as if you were present at the VPN’s location, there are some benefits to it if you want access to geo-blocked sites or are using public Wi-Fi.  
When you surf the internet while connected to a VPN, your computer communicates with the website through encoded VPN connection. The VPN forwards the request for you and forwards the response from the website back through the secure connection. For example, if you’re using a location specific USA-based VPN to access Netflix, Netflix will perceive your connection as a USA user.

Uses of VPN
-          Access a Business Network while on the move: VPNs are regularly used by business travelers to get in touch with their business’ network, including all its local network resources while on the move.
-          Access your home network while on the move: You can also set up your own VPN to access your own network while you’re on the move.
-          Hide Your Browsing Activity from Your ISP and Local network: When you use a public Wi-Fi connection, your internet surfing activity on non-HTTPS websites can be viewed by everyone nearby, if they know how to look. You can hide all of this by connecting to a VPN.
-          Access Geo-blocked websites: If you’re an American and trying to connect to Netflix when outside of the country then you can use an American VPN to access the website.
-          Evade Internet censorship: Several Chinese people use VPNs to evade the great firewall of China and gain access to the entire internet.
-          Downloading files: You can use VPN to download files using torrent aggregators.


Tikona Infinet, an enterprise arm of Tikona Digital Networks, offers VPN services to enterprises. Tikona understands that a traditional network approach to respond to relatively newer challenges requires expertise, time and resource management, which can entail substantial investments. Tikona Broadband offers expandability, flexibility, manageability and scalability that is required for today’s networked business enterprises.